Visit our website to learn more about our Historians Against Slavery.


Our Mission

We are a community of scholar-activists who contribute research and historical context to today’s antislavery movements in order to inspire and inform activism and to develop collaborations that empower such efforts.

Visit our website to Learn more about our Historians Against Slavery.


HAS Definition of Slavery

Our agreed-upon definition of slavery is when people are forced to work against their will for the profit of others.

Our History

HAS was founded by James Brewer Stewart in January 2011.

Our Motto

Using History to Make Slavery History

speakers bureau

The Historians Against Slavery Speakers Bureau provides high-quality lecturers prepared to connect the history of slavery and abolition to these same issues today.  They are prepared to address college campuses, student-run conferences, and teacher seminars.  They are also available for general audiences at public events sponsored by historical societies, museums, libraries, and humanities councils.  Each agrees to donate her or his lecture honorarium to HAS.

HAS Speakers designate their lecture fees as donations to HAS to further its work.  The host institution pays the lecture fee directly to HAS and agrees to reimburse the speaker’s travel and lodging expenses promptly, if travel costs cannot be charged directly to the host.

To book a speaker, discuss the lecture fees, and/or ask questions, contact: 

Mathew Mason, matthew_mason@byu.edu, 801-422-3408


Stacey Robertson, Central Washington University
Matthew Mason, Brigham Young University


Nicole H. Scalessa, Director of Communications, haswebsitemanager@gmail.com


Jason Allen, Mother Bethel AME Church
Michael Todd Landis, Tarleton State University
Talitha LeFlouria, Florida Atlantic University
Matthew Mason, Brigham Young University
Randall Miller, St. Joseph’s University
Laura Murphy, Loyola University
Stacey Robertson, Central Washington University
Stephen Rozman, Tougaloo College
James Brewer Stewart, Macalester College
Elizabeth Swanson Goldberg, Babson College
Zoe Trodd, University of Nottingham
Robert Wright, Augustana University